Canceling or Transferring a Domain
Cancelling or Transferring a Domain
Learn how to transfer or cancel your domain.
Please ensure that you have carefully read and understood the steps outlined on this page. After the cancellation date, there is no way to request an Auth-Code, even by the Customer Support Team.
Domains included with your netcup Webhosting package can only be canceled by our Customer Support. Please note that you will lose the slot of that included domain and there is no entitlement to compensation or replacement. Alternatively, included domains are automatically canceled when you terminate your Webhosting contract with netcup.
Do you want to cancel your domain directly or transfer it to another provider and continue using it? Make sure you select the correct process.
1. Permanently Cancel Domain
2. Transfer Domain
1. Permanently Cancel Domain
Please only follow these steps if you are certain that you do not want to continue using the specific domain.
Opening the Customer Control Panel (CCP)
- Log in to your Customer Control Panel (CCP).
- Go to the Domains menu item.
Selecting Product
- Click the Magnifying Glass Icon next to the name of the domain you want to cancel.
- Go to the Cancellation tab.
Canceling Contract
The information displayed under Possible cancellation date will tell you when the cancellation will be completed.
- Click Cancel domain to start the cancellation process for the specific domain.
- In the next window, you will be asked to confirm the cancellation by entering the domain in the confirmation field.
- Once completed, click Cancel domain to cancel the domain.
- The cancellation will be completed on the specified due date. In any case, it will take at least 31 days before the end of the minimum contract period for the cancellation to be completed.
2. Transfer Domain
Opening the Customer Control Panel (CCP)
- Log in to your Customer Control Panel (CCP).
- Go to the Domains menu item.
Selecting Product
- Click the Magnifying Glass Icon next to the name of the domain you want to transfer.
- Go to the Cancellation tab.
Receiving Auth-Code
- To transfer the domain to a new provider and continue using it, you need the Auth-Code for this domain.
- Click on Request Auth-Code and make a note of the information provided, as you will need it for the transfer to a new provider.
The authentication code is valid for 30 days from the date of issue.
Canceling Contract
The information displayed under Possible cancellation date will tell you when the cancellation will be completed.
- Click Cancel domain to start the cancellation process for the specific domain.
- In the next window, you will be asked to confirm the cancellation by entering the domain in the confirmation field.
- Once completed, click Cancel domain to cancel the domain.
- The cancellation will be completed on the specified due date. In any case, it will take at least 31 days before the end of the minimum contract period for the cancellation to be completed.
You will have to use the Auth-Code to transfer the Domain to the new provider by this due date. Please ensure that you do so in a timely manner as failure to do so within the allocated time may lead to you losing control over the domain.
For certain top-level domains (examples: .com, .net, .org, .biz, .info), after requesting the Auth-Code, a so-called FOA email is sent to you by the current registrar. This email contains a link that must additionally be clicked in order for the domain transfer to be successfully completed. The FOA email is sent to the email address listed in the Whois data, which may differ from the address stored in your Customer Control Panel (CCP).
Last update: 23 July 2026